I knew that looking for a new job was a lot of work. I have applied for four different jobs already and I have a few more that I’m considering. It is a lot of work. After I get home from my current job, the last thing I want to do is sit down and fill out another job application. But if I want to get a new job, that’s what I need to do.

Job searching takes some preparation. In addition to having a resume, I have also prepared a curriculum vitae (since some of the jobs I am applying for are in the academic realm), and a work history chart with the most common information employers want regarding my work history. For the most part, this works great. I can just refer to my chart when I get to that section of the application and fill it out quickly.

What discourages me about the job searching process is how much information some employers want. For example, I sat down to fill out an online application for a job that looked great. When I got to the work history section, they also wanted to know what all my job duties included for each job that I have had in the past. Since I did not have that information prepared, I just gave up. It felt too overwhelming. I would rather just send in a resume and cover letter and let those speak for themselves. Alas. Every employer is different.

For another application, the employer wanted some additional questions answered in 500 words or less. I suppose the essay questions prove to an employer how badly you want a job because you actually take the time to write those if you want the job. I suppose it also proves to them whether or not you can write.

As a result of having to fill out all these applications I have come to the conclusion that I need to set a goal. I need to set aside a certain amount of time each week to fill out applications or try to fill out one application per week. Thankfully, I can afford to do this because I’m already working at a great place and I’m in no hurry to leave.